On a picnic we will go… with Vegan Blueberry Muffins

6 Nov

My hubby and I are taking our daughter Finnley on a picnic tomorrow Yaay! Not only do I get to spend some time with my family, but a bunch of my friends are bringing their families too! What is it about picnics that are so much fun? It’s like somehow the food magically tastes better by putting it in a picnic basket and taking it somewhere else to eat it!  Anyway, we are going to Fess Parker Winery for our picnic in Los Olivos, California. They have a beautiful, big front lawn, with the kind of green grass you just want to roll around in! It’s perfect for a picnic!

I wish this was my front yard, as long as I am not the one mowing it lol!

Hopefully it’s sunny like this tomorrow when we go!

I was trying to figure out what to make for this perfect picnic we were about to embark on, when I remembered all the blueberries that were sitting in the fridge untouched. “YES,  blueberry muffins,” I thought.  Well I had better make blueberry something before all I have is moldy-berries, which are not so tasty! So I searched for a vegan blueberry muffin recipe and found this…

Vegan Blueberry Muffins with Streusel Topping

1 1/2 c.  Organic whole wheat pastry flour

2 t. baking powder

1/2 t. baking soda

2/3 c. organic almond milk

1 t. vanilla extract

1/3 c. orange juice

1/3 c. canola oil

1/2 c. organic sugar

1 c. fresh blueberries

1 t. lemon zest (optional)

Streusel topping:

2 T. brown sugar

1 T. organic sugar

2 T. whole wheat flour

2 T. vegan margarine (i.e. Earth Balance)

3 T. oats

1 t. cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line a muffin tin with papers.

Look how cute my little muffin papers are hee hee!

Place dry ingredients in a large bowl. Mix well and set aside.

In a measuring cup, combine almond milk, O.J., oil, and vanilla. (I didn’t have O.J. so I pureed some mangos and added water to it to make mango juice. It worked great!)

Add wet ingredients to dry. Stir until just combined. Don’t Over Do It! 🙂

Gently fold in blueberries and lemon zest.

Check me out, zestin' away !

While batter is resting, combine streusel ingredients in a small dish.

MMMmm streusely goodness!

Fill muffin cups 2/3 of the way full with batter and top each cup with a tablespoonful of streusel topping.

Hi 🙂

Smother those babies with streusel !!

Bake for 22-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of a muffin comes out clean.

Now those are some beautiful muffins!

Break me off a piece of that! On second thought, I'll be eating the whole thing!

YUM!

One Response to “On a picnic we will go… with Vegan Blueberry Muffins”

  1. Evan November 6, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Wowzerz! I love those muffins!!

Leave a Reply

