Vegan Bean and Veggie Mini Burgers

18 Nov
MMmm I LOVE me some burgers! However now that I am a no meat gal, I had to venture into the unknown (unknown for me) world of veggie burgers! Let me tell ya, this recipe really gave me my fix! I think I like all the stuff that you  put on a regular  burger more than a burger itself. I like to stack all kinds of goodies on that bun and bite down with a big crunch! Pickles,onions, lettuce, tomatoes, coleslaw mmm-mmm it’s all GOOD!  I have to say, one thing I wouldn’t think to put on a regular burger is a mango, but it is stinking delish on this bean and veggie burger! It has an Asian flare to it, thanks to the ginger and cilantro. The  mango gives the perfect sweet tang to compliment this savory veggie patty!
Ingredients
  • 2 cups cooked kidney beans (see below)
  • 1 cup steamed jasmine or basmati rice
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrot
  • 1/3 cup shredded broccoli
  • 2 tbsps grated ginger
  • 2 tbsps finely chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tbsps broth from cooked beans
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 12 small whole-wheat rolls, split
  • Garnishes:  lettuce, mango, red onion, and cilantro (The Mango is a must) 🙂
 
Cooked Kidney Beans
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cans kidney beans
  • 1 tbsp garlic
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • All Purpose Seasoning
Directions:
1.) Cook your kidney beans until tender and make sure to save some of the seasoned broth for later.
2.) Meanwhile combine your shredded carrots,broccoli, ginger, broth, and chopped cilantro into a bowl.
3.) Toss two cups cooked kidney beans into your food processor
and pulse a few times. Then add in rice
and pulse to combine.
4.) Stir kidney beans and rice mixture in with chopped broccoli,
ginger, carrots, and cilantro. Form into small round 3 inch patties
and cook in a frying pan over medium heat.
About 3 Minutes on each side.
(It really looks a similar to ground beef huh!?)
5.) Once the patties are browned on each side they are ready to be served up on a
toasty bun with all the fixin’s!
Don’t forget the mango!
Cool Beans ;0)
Leave a Reply

