DIY Picture Frame

19 Nov

My Hubby has been putting in some extra hours at work lately, which means I don’t have a lot of extra time to do fun projects. I could do a little here and there while sweet lil Finnley is snoozing, but I really don’t like to stop working on a project until it is completely finished! It is ideal for me to do a project when Evan is home to help with our daughter. You could imagine my excitement when I heard he had the day off, and I got my much needed creative fix!  It is still bare-wall city over here, so I decided spruce up some old picture frames to hang.

I purchased a really adorable sparkly owl at Ross (LOVE Ross) the other day. It is such a shiny ball of glamor, I had to get it!  Anyway, when I was thinking of what to make today I remembered “Oh I have that amazing owl to decorate with!”  I wanted to make something that would look nice hanging next to it!  Here is what I came up with…

BEFORE

BEFORE Nothing too special!

Give it a quick sanding before you start painting.

I chose Silver, Slate Grey, and Cream craft paint for an old painted wood look.

 

I put the paints next to each other so they could mix a little. You want to get streaks of different colors, not all one color.

Now For Inside The Frame…

I chose yellow paint for the lettering inside the frame.

I painted the letters on some old card stock I had lying around.

I used a stencil for the first letter to help me center the letter and get the word straight.

 

I went back over the letters with a little bit of cream paint to give it a faded look.

 

Finished product 🙂

I think my glamorous owl Sir Hoots-a-lot will be very cozy sitting next to my DIY picture frame.

One Response to “DIY Picture Frame”

  1. Linda Pisklo November 20, 2011 at 3:51 am #

    I love this. Very creative!!

Leave a Reply

