Vegan Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

14 Jan

Well my husband ate the last of the eggs for breakfast this morning, so when it came time to making the cookies I was so desperately craving, I had to improvise a little. I usually cook with eggs for certain desserts, such as really amazing chocolate chip cookies. It’s the dairy that I really try to avoid. Today there we no eggs to be had, so I reached for that ever-aging nanner sitting in our fruit bowl, and went to work.

For my super delicious choc. chip cookies that I always make (from the back of the trader joe’s choc. chips bag) I use eggs like the recipe calls for, and then sub the milk and butter for coconut milk and coconut butter. Oh they are heavenly!  Anyway, the Vegan Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies are pretty darn tasty too!  They were just the warm chocolaty cookie I was looking for on this chilly Saturday afternoon. 🙂  Enjoy!

 

Ingredients:
1 large banana
1/2 cup Earth Balance Or Coconut Butter
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 c. chocolate chips
1/2 oats

 

Directions:

1. Preheat Oven to 350

2. Cream butter and bananas together in a mixer and add sugar.

3. In a separate bowl mix together salt, flour, oats, and baking powder. then mix in with butter mixture.

4. Mix in vanilla and chocolate chips. ( if you find your dough is to stiff, add a little “milk.” I had to add some coconut milk to mine. It really depends on your banana.)

5. Drop and shape cookies on a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes.

6. Gobble them up!  MMMMMM

Happy Saturday! 

xo Amanda

4 Responses to “Vegan Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Anjou Clothing January 16, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    Ah, I had to improvise as well this morning! No eggs + no milk made for horribly mushy pancakes. BUT, these cookies look DIVINE! So chewy and moist and plump, mmm. Now I know what to do with my ever-aging nanner sitting in the bowl…do we all have one of those?… 😉

    • fashionforwardfoodie January 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Ha Ha I know there always seems to be one straggler that doesn’t get eaten before the brown spots take over. Now we have a tasty solution to that problem 🙂

  2. vegansparkles January 17, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Ohhh! Such an easy recipe, thanks for posting! I’m not much of a baker but I should be able to pull this one off, right? 🙂

  3. Madison January 23, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Yummy! I’m definitely trying this one! You and I love our cookies, don’t we?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

